This project is read-only.

Since the entire concept behind the working of this tool is based on impersonation, the tool will work as expected either through the ‘System Administrator’ or any user whose security role has the “Act on Behalf of another user’ privilege.

image

The steps below will give a detailed explanation of how to use this tool.

 

  • Go to Downloads section of this site and download the PersonalViewEditor.zip at a location of your choice. Unzip the folder.
  • Inside the folder look for the file PersonalViewManager.exe.config and set the value of the key “advancedfindurl”. Set the <crmserverurl> to the url of your crm organization
    • <add key="advancedfindurl" value="<crmserverurl>/advancedfind/advfind.aspx?AutoRun=false&QueryId={0}&ViewType=4230&etn={1}" />
  • Double click to run the exe ‘PersonalViewManager.exe’. Once clicked a window would open as shown in the screenshot below

image 

  • Connect to your CRM Organization from the options provided in the status bar connection control. Once connection is succeeded, the status bar would show the status as Connected to your CRM Organization. Please refer to the screenshot below.

image

  • Click on ‘Load Data’ Image to load all the enabled users  in the system
  • Once the users are loaded, select an user from the dropdown list control. Once the user is selected, a grid would be displayed with all the personal views which are either owned by the user or the ones shared to the user. Please refer to the screenshot below. Please note that views with outlook offline filters is not displayed in the list.

image

 

  • The Shared Column in the above grid indicates whether the personal view is currently shared with the user who has connected through this application. If it is shared, the logged-in user can view the privileges he have on the view. On clicking the icon in the privilege column, a popup would similar to the screenshot below would appear.

image

 

  • If the view is shared with the logged in user, the user can open the personal view in CRM by clicking on the view name. See screenshot below.

image

 

  • To share any of the views with other users in the system, select a view and click on the ‘Share’ icon. Once clicked a screenshot as below would appear.

image

 

  • Click on Add User icon and from the user popup select the user. Once the user is selected, assign appropriate privileges to the user and click on save. If the access of any user needs to be removed, select one or more users from grid and click the ‘Remove Selected’ icon and save the changes. Please refer to the screenshot below

image

 

image

Last edited Mar 12, 2014 at 7:28 PM by debajdu, version 4